top of page
Search

Understanding Your True Self

Updated: Jul 18, 2023


About 2 years, I didn’t know my purpose. I just knew there was something out there for me. I never gave up, because I knew that wasn’t the answer. For so many years, I asked myself “What is my purpose?” My younger siblings knew what they wanted to do with their lives, way before I did. They just happened to have a better understanding of themselves. I always saw this, but I never let it negatively affect me. I knew there was a purpose, out there, waiting for me to find it. So, I bet you're wondering, “Did you go crazy?”


No, I didn’t. I went crazy for other reasons, but this wasn't one. I was never a person who had a lot of patience but it's like, something inside of me knew that one day I would find what I had been looking for. I took this time, of being unsure, to get to know myself. I started by digging deep into the things that were holding me back from knowing.


I had to rearrange my brain. I had to really look into the beliefs that stemmed from childhood. Everything up until this moment has made me who I am supposed to be at this time. In the past, I may have made not so good decisions and I might have disappointed people. That doesn't define me though, because I was in the process of learning and healing. I had to release everything that ever stopped my growth.


One thing that I realized, you can try to blame others for certain things. You can try to make it someone else's fault, but what does that do? That gives you an escape, an acceptance for your feelings or actions. Does it really though? If someone hurts you, or makes you feel any type of negative way, you have to learn from it. This process will keep repeating itself, until YOUR actions change. You can’t change others. You have to change yourself. This will change the situations you end up in.


At first, you make changes and then those same cycles repeat and you feel like your actions aren't making progress BUT, they are. This is the universe’s way of making sure you 100% every time, follow your gut. After a little bit of time, those cycles will stop and you'll see the light. All of a sudden, you find yourself in the opposite situation. You realize that your actions, your way of destroying any negative thoughts or feelings, manifests for you. You are on this path, this path to understanding who you really are and what you are really here for. Now, when I say that, I want you to understand, each and everyday, the situations you come across are always meant for you. They are meant for learning. They are meant for SOUL GROWTH.


Finding your true self, can be found by simply enjoying all that you do. If you don’t enjoy something, DON'T DO IT. If you dont think youre going to enjoy something you’ve never tried, GIVE IT A TRY first, before assuming if you will like it or not. This is how great hobbies & careers are formed. You might not expect something to be joyful, but then it turns out to be everything you could ever want. Give yourself more. Give yourself the opportunities that can bring you closer to being your TRUE SELF.


Let’s talk about what you do for income. Do you enjoy it? Is it something that you feel good about? You should always put this into perspective. I'm not saying to quit your job today if you don't like it. What I'm saying is don't hesitate to look for the things that you enjoy. Look for a job or a source of income that makes you feel comfortable and makes you feel a sense of belonging. This is a major step to finding your true self. By doing this, you show the universe that you’re opened and willing to make a change. The universe is always backing us up. Once you realize this, you can start to alter not only your way of thinking, but your way of speaking. Your words are manifesting for you. That’s why it's so important to watch what you say. Tell yourself “ I got this, I’m going to do it and nothing will stop me!” These powerful words bring so much energy to the table and help you manifest your reality so quickly. When you tell yourself, you can’t do something or you aren’t capable of it, that becomes a reality because you don't give it the right chance.


If your current dream is to buy a car for example, start looking at cars. Even if you don’t have the money, the energy of being in that dream will bring it closer to you. Once you find a car that you really enjoy, that enhances the energy of this dream. You are taking actions that will lead to your dream come true. Once you test drive this car that you love, you are motivated and determined to get the money that you need. The dream doesn't stop, unless you allow it to. As long as you're making steps towards the things you want, they will be there and they will just keep getting closer and closer.


We can try to recognize what makes us feel bad and what makes us feel good, and we can use that to determine who we truly are as a person. This comes from many things. The person we are stems from past lives, subconscious beliefs, daily cycles, and thoughts. Now, remember we can change these things everyday. We can make a difference in the way that we see things. We can alter our own perspective to become the most understanding.


I’m going to give you a prime example of how I changed my perspective on other people. As we all know, we may come across certain people that we just don't understand. We don't understand their way of thinking, or how they might make certain choices. The reason for this is because everyone is at different levels of their path. We all see things differently because of the experiences we have already dealt with. We are all continuously growing and learning soul lessons. To judge someone for that, is not right. They choose to be in the body they are, to learn the lessons needed for their soul. When you look at this, you look at the chance to help someone. Even if it’s just kind words, or a nice gesture. This can go a long long way for the people who need it. Most importantly, we come across others sometimes to help them with their soul lessons, no matter if we realize it or not. These lessons can be subtle and go unnoticed. Start to notice them. You are put into other people's lives to show them something that they wouldn't have seen without you. Purity, light, love, that’s all the things we need to spread. We need to let others find happiness within themselves.


My example for this is,


I used to work at a bagel shop. I absolutely loved serving people, cooking food for people and creating relationships. During this time, I felt like my purpose was there. I was meant to be there during this time in my life. The environment and working conditions were not good, but I would usually turn a blind eye to it because It was something I enjoyed. As time would continue to move on, I started to notice that this was not good for my mental health. This was affecting my life, my emotions, my energy. Eventually, after saying for months, I FELT SOMETHING MORE THAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN. It did. I always said I was going to quit. Finally, one day I had a zoom meeting with my future business mentor. I told my boss, I needed a little bit of a raise if I was going to stay or else that was my two week notice. (I don’t know why I thought a little more money was enough to stay and ruin my mental health.) He gave me a raise, barely. I came back from weekend vacation. I was supposed to work on a monday. I went in to open the store and something inside of me told me “This isn't what you should be doing.” So at 5:30am, I decided to leave and not open the store. I know you’re thinking that isn't okay. It’s not, but everyone else always missed their shift, I was always working extra to cover them. I thought that it was fine because everyone else could do it and not get in trouble. Well, I got FIRED! I’m not trying to gloat but I was the hardest working employee and most reliable in that place.


I was okay with this though. I got fired 2 weeks after I told my boss that without a raise, that would be my two week notice. It’s funny how the universe works. The universe knew what I needed, and I trusted it. I found that there was a lesson there. The lesson was, not to settle for the things that make you experience negativity. I strive to open up a small bakery/ metaphysical store one day. The other lesson I learned from this was, never to be a boss like that. A boss that barely pays you but expects you to work until you have no grasp of your mental health. So, I told myself, when I own my shop, I will be the best boss. In this whole process, I was finding my truest self. Being that my purpose in life is to help people, I saw this as a chance to help myself.


I then went into the fast lane and decided to take all the necessary steps to become a spiritual life coach. I felt this was my calling. Helping people, it’s always what I do. So I knew this was it.


It took a lot of lessons and situations to learn who I truly am, but it happened. Anyone on this planet can learn who they truly are, but they have to be willing and accepting of many things. We get stuck in the cycle that we think is acceptable because it's acceptable to a good chunk of society. Work, Sleep, Repeat. If you’re forgetting to give yourself time to learn about YOU, you’re just going to be moving through life on autopilot.


If you’re reading this blog, there's a very good chance that you are on the right path to finding your true purpose. You are here because you haven't given up.


Now, go take the steps you need to become your truest self!!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page